The Advisory Board is a group of respected individuals who have an active relationship with Climate Generation and are making exceptional contributions in the area of climate change, renewable energy, philanthropy and policy.

The Climate Generation Advisory Board serves as a critical community champion of Climate Generation. Members of the Advisory Board share their gifts in our mission to empower individuals and their communities to engage in solutions to climate change.

The Advisory Board launched the Teach Climate Teachers Scholarship Movement in 2017, in collaboration with Climate Generation’s staff. Learn more about the initiative.

Advisory Board Members:

Dr. John P. Abraham
Professor, School of Engineering, University of St. Thomas

Ellen Anderson
Energy and environmental leader

Bob Blake
Founder and Solar Outreach, Solar Bear

David A. Brown, Jr.
Shareholder and Director, CPA, CBIZ, Mayer Hoffman McCann, LLC.

Michael Conley
President, Conley Family Foundation

Leigh Currie
Energy and Climate Attorney. Former Board member/past Board Chair.

Chuck Dayton
Environmental Attorney (retired)

Judson Dayton

Jon Dettmann
Partner and Attorney, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP. Former Board member/past Board Chair.

Beth Dooley
Chef and award-winning author, Sweet Nature: A Cook’s Guide to Using Honey and Maple Syrup

Paul Douglas
Author, Entrepreneur, Chief Meteorologist at AerisWeather

David Durenberger
Former United States Senator

Dr. Robert Elde
Dean of College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota (retired)

Lynn Gordon
Founder of French Meadow Bakery and Café and Peoples Organic

Catherine Gunsbury
Partner, Solhem Companies

Dr. Jessica Hellmann
Director, Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota

Hubert H. Humphrey III
Former Attorney General, State of Minnesota

Will Kaul
Energy consultant, Vice President and Chief Transmission Officer, Great River Energy (retired)

Joann Knuth
Retired Education Professional and Consultant

Larry Kraft
St. Louis Park City Council Member and Climate Advocate

Ron Kroese
Retired Philanthropic and Nonprofit Environmental CEO

Julianne Laue
Senior Energy Engineer, Mortenson Construction

Richard Leider
Founder, Inventure, The Purpose Company

Sally Leider
Watershed Educator, Somatic Coach, Empowerment Workshop Leader

James P. Lenfestey
Journalist and Poet, former editorial writer, Star Tribune

Craig Neal
Co-Founder, Center for Purposeful Leadership

Frank Niepold
Climate Education Coordinator and Senior Program Manager, NOAA Climate Program

Tim Nixon
Chief Communications Officer and Global Head of Partnerships & Policy, Constellation Research & Technology

Michael Noble
Executive Director, Fresh Energy. Former Board member/past Board Chair.

Megan O’Hara
Nonprofit Consultant/Project Manager – ‎Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light

Cheryl Olseth
Director, Olseth Family Foundation

Gayle Peterson
Co-Founder and Senior Managing Director, Partners for Change

Roopali Phadke
Professor and Chair, Department of Environmental Studies, Macalester College and former Board Member

Judy Poferl
Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary, Xcel Energy (retired)

Melissa Rappaport Schifman
Editor and Sustainability Thought Leader for Rise, Founder of Green Intention LLC, author of Building a Sustainable Home

Winthrop Rockwell
Partner and Attorney, Faegre Baker Daniels (retired)

Dr. Benjamin D. Santer
Climate Scientist and John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellow

Timothy Seck
Managing Director, Eastern Renewable Development, Avangrid Renewables

Don Shelby
Investigative Journalist and former WCCO-TV news anchor

Dana Slade
Director, Sustainability Programs, HealthPartners

Amy Stielow
Climate Advocate and Mother

Kate Wolford
President, McKnight Foundation (retired)